ARC Agency Treaty Signatories

On 19-23 November 2012 delegates from 41 African Union Member States convened a Conference of Plenipotentiaries in Pretoria, South Africa to finalize the African Risk Capacity (ARC) Establishment Agreement.  On the final day of the Conference, 18 Member States signed the Establishment Agreement, creating the ARC as a Specialized Agency of the African Union. Eight additional countries signed the treaty at a later stage. These signatories make up the Conference of the Parties (CoP), a governance structure of the Agency that will perform policy and quasi-governmental functions such as providing overall strategic and governance guidance; approving and monitoring contingency planning; monitoring and evaluation; and setting the overall policy direction for ARC.

On 25-27 February 2013, the first CoP, presided over by the Prime Minister of the Government of Senegal in Dakar, elected the Governing Board of the ARC Agency , the interim Director General and selected the temporary jurisdiction of the ARC Insurance Company Ltd, the Agency’s financial affiliate.

On 26-28 November 2013, the second CoP, presided over by the Cabinet Secretary, National Treasury of the Government of Kenya in Nairobi, approved the criteria for issuance of a Certificate of Good Standing to countries wishing to take out insurance as well as the Compliance Rules for ARC insurance payouts.  (Report forthcoming)

The third CoP took place from 22-24 January 2015 at the headquarters of the African Union Commission in Addis Ababa, Ethiopia where the CoP selected the first regular-term Director General, Mr. Mohamed Beavogui, a native of Guinea.

Programme of Work and Budget 2015



January 2015 – Addis Ababa, Ethiopia

ARC Establishment Agreement





November 2012 — Pretoria, South Africa

The Secretariat is currently providing legal support for Member States to ratify the Establishment Agreement in their respective capitals.

How to Sign the Establishment Agreement

The AU Commission acts as the depository of the Establishment Agreement, which is available for signature in the Office of the Legal Counsel. The Establishment Agreement may be signed at the Commission in Addis Ababa or at AU Summits by heads of state or government, ministers of foreign affairs, or delegates bearing credentials signed by one of the aforementioned officials.

Mr Adewale Iyanda, AU  Senior  Legal Officer, can be contacted by email at  should there be any questions about the signing process.


——- Original Signatories (23 November 2012) ——–
Burkina Faso
Central African Republic
Republic of Congo
The Gambia
Sahrawi Arab Democratic Republic

——– Additional Signatories (date signed) ———-

  1. Kenya (28 January 2013)
  2. Mauritania (28 January 2013)
  3. Côte d’Ivoire (6 February 2013)
  4. Comoros (15 February 2013)
  5. Gabon (30 January 2014)
  6. Madagascar (31 January 2014)
  7. Benin (27 June 2014)
  8. Nigeria (4 December 2014)
  9. Mali (27 May 2015)
  10. Ghana (28 January 2016)
  11. Guinea Bissau (29 January 2016)
  12. Sao Tome and Principe (29 January 2016)
  13. Sierra Leone (29 January 2016)
  14. Zambia (29 January 2016)